UN member states sign joint statement condemning Russian oppression in Crimea

Crimean Tatars
Canan Kevser
05 October 2021, 10:04
Canan Kevser
05 October 2021, 10:04

The United Nations (UN) member states have signed a joint statement on the Human Rights Situation in the Autonomous Republic of Crimea during the 48th session of the UN Human Rights Council. The statement was delivered by the First Deputy Foreign Minister of Ukraine Emine Dzheppar at the session on Monday, October 4.

The statement denounces the holding of elections to the State Duma of the Russian Federation from 17 to 19 September on the sovereign territory of Ukraine without the consent of the Ukrainian side and did not recognize the results of these elections.

About Russian Duma elections in occupied Crimea: https://qirim.news/en/kryimskie-tataryi-en/russian-duma-election-in-crimea-breach-international-law-results-null-and-void/

It strongly condemns the politically motivated searches and detentions of Crimean Tatars, in particular, Eldar Odamanov, Asan and Aziz Akhmetovs, Shevket Useinov, the first deputy Сhairman of the Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people Nariman Dzhelal.

About home raids and detention of Crimean Tatars in Crimea by Russia on September 3-4: https://qirim.news/en/crimean-tatars/kyiv-protests-against-detention-of-nariman-dzhelal-four-other-crimean-tatars-by-russian-fsb/

The UN member states emphasize the need for Russia, as the occupying power, to comply with its obligations under international humanitarian law and in the field of human rights, to restore human rights of all residents of Crimea, to immediately and fully implement the order of the International Court of Justice of April 19, 2017, on the resumption of the activities of the Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar people and an end to oppression Crimean Tatars.

The joint declaration, proclaimed by Emine Dzheppar on behalf of 40 UN member states, condemns Russia’s disregard for its obligations under international law, calls on the Russian Federation to comply with its obligations and condemned any attempts to legalize the annexation of Crimea, welcomes the launch of the Crimea Platform.

Emine Dzheppar

It also expresses support for the territorial integrity, political independence and sovereignty of Ukraine within its internationally recognized borders and determination to work together to respect human rights and fundamental freedoms of all residents of Crimea.

The joint statement was signed by 40 countries, including; Ukraine, Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Georgia, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, The United States of America.