Crimea Platform Summit participant countries sign joint declaration

Ukrainian News
Canan Kevser
24 August 2021, 10:27
Canan Kevser
24 August 2021, 10:27

The participants of the International Crimea Platform signed a joint declaration on Monday, August 23.

According to the declaration published on the official website of the Crimea Platform, the participants reaffirmed support for the territorial integrity of Ukraine, condemned the temporary occupation of Crimea, the militarization of the peninsula, human rights violations and restrictions on freedom of navigation in the region, and called on the Russian Federation to engage constructively in the activities of the Platform.

“Participants in the International Crimea Platform do not recognize and continue to condemn the temporary occupation and illegal annexation of Crimea, which constitutes a direct challenge to international security with grave implications for the international legal order that protects the territorial integrity, unity and sovereignty of all states,” reads the statement.

The Participants reaffirmed commitment to the sovereignty, political independence, unity and territorial integrity of Ukraine within its internationally recognized borders, extending to its territorial waters.

Ukraine's sovereignty, political independence, unity and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders, extending to its territorial waters, was reaffirmed by the participants of the Crimea Platform.

The declaration expressed participants' disposition to the eventual return of the temporarily occupied territories of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol to Ukraine and restoration of their autonomous status as stipulated in the Constitution of Ukraine. The participants also pledged their support to the residents of this territory with regard to restoring their rights and freedoms, enshrined within the Constitution of Ukraine, and improving the socio-economic situation in the peninsula.

According to the joint declaration, "any alteration of the status of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol as an integral part of the sovereign territory of Ukraine is not and will not be recognized, and that Russia’s efforts to legitimize the temporary occupation and illegal seizure are unacceptable."

The Participants also decided to consider further political, diplomatic and restrictive measures towards the Russian Federation, if provided for by the legal jurisdiction of each Participant and in line with respective procedures, when appropriate and should Russia’s actions so require.

It is noted that participants would address emerging challenges and evolving hybrid threats resulting from the ongoing militarization of Crimea and support joint efforts to strengthen resilience to those threats in the context of growing threats to security and stability in the Black Sea region.

The Participants decided to unite efforts aimed at protecting the rights and freedoms of the civilian population living in the occupied Crimea and achieving the immediate and unconditional release of Ukrainian citizens unlawfully detained or convicted for political reasons by Russia and its state agents, both in the territory of the occupied Crimea and in the territory of the Russian Federation.

The Declaration stipulates that the Participants will consider supporting economic, infrastructure and environmental projects that would contribute to the further development of Ukraine’s regions adjacent to the temporarily occupied Crimean peninsula.

The Russian Federation is urged to comply with its obligations as an occupying power under international humanitarian law and other applicable international law, to bring an immediate end to all violations and abuses of human rights of residents of Crimea and to provide full and unimpeded access to Crimea for established regional and international monitoring mechanisms, in particular the UN Human Rights Monitoring Mission in Ukraine and the OSCE Special Monitoring Mission to Ukraine, as well as for human rights non-governmental organizations.